Let’s Play Dress Up & Rap! (And let’s talk about kids’ favorite books and story)

15 Feb

You’ve probably not seen many sillier things than a rapping purple monkey trying to beat box:)

Bean plays Dress Up with Paris and Abyni

As always, if you have trouble viewing in your mobile device, here is the direct link

What are your children’s favorite dress up games?

In the past year, Paris and Abyni have mainly played “British Tea Party”, an occasional hip hop inspired theme night, mermaid (whenever we were near a pool, they turned into mermaids as soon as they got wet) and sometimes just random scenes they saw on a movie.

Other than that, they often have girl’s nights together (which I think is fabulous for sisterly bonding time… a bit more special than *just* hanging out), where one of them is the “host” and waits on the other person, surprising them with a meal, a movie and a game of choice (a main favorite seems to be Rockstar Makeover, Fashion Show or Blind Makeovers) or they might do fancy spa days (during which I am often a lucky guest!).

Ready for some tea, my deah?

When they were younger, I think it was mostly Sprite (our oldest) who mostly drove the game themes.  She has SUCH a great imagination!!  She is really creative and is very good at bringing all the kids together into her imaginary games.  I hope my kids always remember how much of a wonderful time they had because of her playing make believe with them for years!

Some of Sprite’s favorite games to play with her siblings were orphan (don’t blame me!  She read a book series about orphans and it set things off!  You don’t know how troubling it is to hear your kids ~ who can REALLY ACT in the yard crying, “MOMMY, PLEASE DON’T LEAVE US!!!  WE’LL BE GOOD… PLEASE *sobbing* PLEEEEEEAAAAAASE WHY!!!!?!?!?!?!”), Mermaids (oh, wait, that was a favorite of Paris and Abyni’s even through this past summer!) and Little House on the Prairie.

This is going to be an odd segue, but talking about my kids imaginary games, they were SO SO influenced by the reading we did.  The kids and I LOVED read aloud time.  I loved the chance to jump into several characters and use my different voices.  They became so absorbed, that most of my kids still have a love of reading just for fun.  I think read alouds are one of the best things you can do with your kids.  I’m actually thinking of recording some chapter books, but I’m not sure if I’d have too many copyright issues.  I LOVE reading aloud to kids, though… hmmmm…

When they were younger, our family favorite books were:

Picture Books:

Cover of "Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb (Bri...

Cover via Amazon

Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman

The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle

Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak

Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb by Al Perkins (that was also MY favorite book when I was growing up because my mom always sang it to me instead of reading it!)

Learning to Read/Reading Together:

Dr. Seuss, of course!  The Cat in the Hat, Green Eggs and Ham and the Cat in the Hat Comes Back (It is very important that I tell you that the Cat has a British Accent, and the fish has a French one!)

The Little Red Hen (we always did a unit study on this, they learned to read a simplified recipe, learned to measure and made bread all by themselves at age 5-6!)

Little Critter’s Books by Mercer Mayer.  (I loved these as much as the kids.  The illustrations are still some of my favorites, and the kids loved being able to read most, if not all of the story themselves!)

Read Aloud Stories:

Pretty much anything Roald Dahl, but our favorites were Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Matilda.  We did read a ton of them though, and I think we reread Charlie and the Chocolate Factory more than most!

A.A. Milne, his stories and poetry (*Note: these were always read with a British accent as well… wait, now that I mention it, most of our read alouds were with a British accent.)

(a little bit more for the older kids, but my younger kids were always in the room listening while they played)

Red Dog by Bill Wallace

The Narnia Books (oh my word, I must confess that I did NOT care for these books, I know, I know.  They even have a British accent and everything, but I always fell asleep whilst reading.  I finally borrowed them from the library in audio book form until they were old enough to read themselves!)

Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell

King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table and Robin Hood by Howard Pyle (I found these to be hard to get through sometimes, but they were fun, they just took a bit of extra thought for me:) and to this day my boys always answer with these in a heartbeat when I ask them what their favorite books were!)

Sign of the Beaver by Elizabeth George Speare

What are Your kid’s favorite read alouds?  Do you read with accents and different character voices?  Would you be interested in hearing more read aloud with chapter books in the future?

Really... my kids LOVE reading!

4 Responses to “Let’s Play Dress Up & Rap! (And let’s talk about kids’ favorite books and story)”

  1. Stacey Thompson February 15, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    When my girls were little we read The Neverending Story and The Princess Bride, among lots of others.
    I love reading in different voices and going to my son’s first grade class to read to the class. Right now the boys ask for their bible story book at bedtime, and the Velveteen Rabbit has been our bedtime book for a long time. We love Are You My Mother?, too, and The Runaway Bunny (which makes me cry every.single.time.)
    I love your British Tea Party. It reminds me of the times when Madame Oui Oui Poo-Poo would show up at our house and give my girls manis, pedis, and hair treatments.

    • Bean's Monkey Business February 15, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      This is going to sound stupid, but although we loved The Neverending Story and The Princess Bride movies… I never realized they were books!! Bad mom!! I would have read those books several times, I’m sure!!

      Madame Oui Oui Poo Poo? That is the most fabulous name EVER… Dahlink!

  2. Patricia February 15, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    Okay, I want to see out-takes on Bean’s Hip Hop video … I couldn’t keep up (maybe because I was laughing too hard). Love how you and your family use your imaginations. Fabulous!

    • Bean's Monkey Business February 15, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

      I have almost a full clip of bloopers just from this week! I’ll probably post those on the weekends:) Thank you, we had fun!

We LOVE getting your comments! Thank you:)

