Hey Guys! Its Monday and time for Story Time AND Singing Time!

20 Feb

Abyni stops by to sing a book to Bean.

Yep, you heard me!  Today we’re going to sing a book.

When I was growing up, my mom used to always sing this book to me.  She had a habit of getting more and more into it, we’d drum on our knees, on the bed, on the table… wherever we were, getting all wound up to the very end of the book… which I definitely remember as being longer than it really is.  I have a feeling that she might have been winging it for part of the book, drawing it out, and as I was so involved in the song, I didn’t notice that she wasn’t turning the pages…

I know she probably did that, because that’s what *I* did when my kids were little.

Here is the Direct Link to today’s video


What is your silliest reading time story?  Do you have a story that always draws you in… one that really makes you let go and run with it?

Tell me YOUR favorite read aloud stories!

9 Responses to “Hey Guys! Its Monday and time for Story Time AND Singing Time!”

  1. Patricia February 20, 2012 at 11:50 am #

    Who doesn’t love to sing? and changing it up by singing a book is such a great idea and Abyni and Bean rocked (as always)! Oh, and were any of those monkeys related to Bean … there were a million of them?

  2. Rachel February 20, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    What a great idea, to sing to books. I suppose I sort of do this something, but I’ve never full out sung. It is hard to choose a favorite read aloud book. Some of our favorites (like I love you through and through) don’t seem like top read aloud books but we have added so much to them as we’ve read them hundreds of times that they are almost a brand new book. I do love reading any books with rhymes like Dr. Seus’ books.

    I’m a new fb follower from the mf hop. You can find me on fb at http://www.facebook.com/myBabySleepGuide

    Thanks,
    Rachel

  3. Rachel February 20, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    I forgot to add that the read aloud handbook has a great list of read aloud books in the index. I just did a review of the book so it is on my mind. Fabulous book!

  4. My Bizarre Family February 20, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

    I love this! My daughter heard me start to play the video and she ran right over to watch it with me (she loved it). I’m a new follower from the hop!

    • Bean's Monkey Business February 20, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

      Yay! I’m so happy to hear that!:) There are a bunch of other clips on the youtube channel as well! Thank you for stopping by!

  5. Jewel February 21, 2012 at 5:48 am #

    Enjoyed visiting your site, am visiting via 99% blog hop. My son generally prefers factual books nowadays but his favourite story is How the Grinch Stole Christmas, and as he is 6 now, he can read a lot of it himself.

    • Bean's Monkey Business February 21, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

      My younger son always preferred fact type books instead of the more “fun” read alouds. He STILL does enjoy the research books… go figure! He’s the smartest kid in the family though!

We LOVE getting your comments! Thank you:)

