Our Story Part Two: Living Life and Flying by the Seat of my Pants

26 Feb

Onward to part two (You can find Part One Here).  This was in 2007, so about a year and a half since we got burned out on driving with our first play.  In my mind, it always seems like it was a 3-4 year time in between!  This whole series is eye opening to me!

Something you need to know about me… I have a habit/tendency to live life by jumping into things headfirst without having a clue about what I’m doing or getting myself into.  Today I’m going to tell you about how I came to be a costumer for our local community theater… and I will continue this series later with how this all snowballed to where I am today!

The full set!

This story takes place in June of 2007.  We had just ended a run in SchoolHouse Rock, Live! in which Patrick and I actually acted instead of the kids.  It was fun, but an awful lot of time away from home because the theater was quite a long drive for us three or more times a week!  Our director, Sheila, told us that she was moving on to direct a children’s play at a theater that was actually much closer to our home and she suggested that we bring the kids to audition.

So, we took the kids to audition for “Alice in Wonderland” at the local community theater.  

Paris won the lead role of Alice as her first ever speaking role (and after learning her almost 400 lines and being on stage for the ENTIRE play, she STILL vringes if you mention Alice in Wonderland!!), Abyni played a talking Rose (and subbed last minute for the Dormouse because of a no-show on the last performance), Kainan played The March Hare and Jaedin was some weird made up creature.  I was at every rehearsal, watching, learning and soaking things up as I tend to do with creative things.

I specifically remember having a conversation with my husband that went something like this, “Wow, honey, I think I could do this… the directing thing.  I wonder what it takes to be able to direct a show?”

“I don’t know, but I’m sure you’d be great at it.”

A couple of weeks later, ten days before the show opened, the director/producer (I really can’t remember who it was at this point) called me in a panic.  “Byn, the costumer has apparently dropped out and there is only two costumes done!!  I know you were going to do Paris’ costume… but could you do more?”

By more…well, there were 32 actors in this play.  And pretty much NONE of them were just “normal” characters.  We’re talking Alice in Wonderland, people!  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thankfully my mom was down visiting because she was such a HUGE help!  We soon had my entire house filled with costumes, paper mache and hand made “Chess” crowns, flowers made of foam… it was crazy.  See the “Chess Crowns” I made with paper mache?  I was pretty proud of those:)

The Mad Hatter in his paper mache top hat!

Oh yeah, and I painted the set pieces (playing cards) at the last minute as well, with help from some of the cast.

The King and Queen Cards from one side of the stage. These were about 8ft tall, btw

It all came together just in time and because of THAT…

The Producer came to me and said, “Wow.  I can’t believe what you managed to do in TEN DAYS.  I’m thinking that you would be good at directing, would you want to direct our next children’s production?”

Thinking he was talking about months from then, I said, “Sure, why not?”

Two WEEKS later, I was on my way to auditions for my directorial debut, “The Mad Adventures of Mr. Toad”!!  I remember on the way to our first practice, I turned to my husband and said, “What was I thinking???  I don’t even think I LIKE other people’s kids!!  We’re getting ready to go spend two months with 30 of them in a room several nights a week!!!”

He calmly said, as always, “Don’t worry about it, you’ll be great…”

How about you?  Do you ever just jump in head first and figure it out as you go?  Do you enjoy yourself or is it just a big stress?  I personally love this aspect of my life, and I wouldn’t have it any other way! 

Stay Tuned for Part Three Coming up NEXT WEEKEND:  Directing Debut!  The Mad Adventures of Mr. Toad!

One Response to “Our Story Part Two: Living Life and Flying by the Seat of my Pants”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Our Story Part Three: My Directorial Debut, “The Mad Adventures of Mr. Toad!” « Beans Monkey Business - March 3, 2012

    […] after Alice In Wonderland wrapped up, I had just committed to directing the next Youth Theater program for the Broken Arrow Community […]

We LOVE getting your comments! Thank you:)

