Reality Check, Part 1: Let’s Get Real Here, Who DOES This???

28 Feb

Apparently, the answer to that, today is, “Who Does That?  The Always Family, That’s Who!”

My Family... photo courtesy of Shawn Stewart Maddox

For those of you who don’t know, my family and I are in the process of creating a new Web Series for Kids through *hopefully* some kickstarter funding.  I realize that some people, heck, maybe most people look at me and think, “What on earth is she thinking?  She can’t just start a show just… just BECAUSE she suddenly has a passion for this ‘puppet thing’.  She doesn’t even know what she’s doing!”

I mean just WATCH THIS VIDEO!!  If that doesn’t prove it, I don’t know what will… We’re just CRAZY!!! WHO DOES THAT?? Our Bloopers Show more of the “real us” than anything scripted!!!

I know this, because I’ve heard it before.  Every time I take on one of my unorthodox projects, I hear it somewhere.

I believe that every single time that I follow my heart and follow my passions, that things not only turn out well, but if I really listen to myself (and of course I don’t always), things lead me to a next step, a next rung in the ladder of my journey.

I have decided to embrace that fully.  Give it my all, heart, soul, time and attention.

But if I’m really honest, sometimes this terrifies me.  I know that I have what it takes, with my husband and my kids and my own contributions, I do have what it takes to make this silly little purple monkey into something truly amazing.  I know without a doubt that I have the creativity, my husband has the technical knowledge, and my girls have the ambition and talent for us to take this all the way to a full fledged children’s show… and THAT sometimes terrifies me.

In gut wrenching moments of self doubt, I will think, “Wait, who do I think I AM?  What if I fail?  What if I make something that kids absolutely love and then just fall flat on my face?   What if people criticize me (And I KNOW it will happen, its the way of the world) so much that I give up?  What am I THINKING!!!??!?!?!?”

But then I remember the joy I get from seeing one picture of one child watching the show, playing peek a boo with Bean, holding the Beanket they won…

London loves her "Bean Time"!

and I remember my thoughts and plans, for new characters (that I have all mapped out and designed in my head:) and for the things I want to do in the future.  I really want to do a kickstarter to order custom “Bean” plushies… and for every one you buy, we deliver the others in person to a local children’s hospital.  At this point, I could never afford to do that on my own, but I would LOVE to be able to give.  I know some people have a desire to give, but they don’t have the time.  I CAN DO THIS.

I watched “Being Elmo” this past weekend and it was wonderful.  I highly recommend it to anyone who has ever been or had a creative child, anyone who has ever felt that they were too different… it was beautiful as well as being eye opening.  It inspired me.  It encouraged me again, and reminded me how blessed I am to have the wonderful encouraging mother that I have.  She always encourages me, always supports me in my crazy adventures.  I don’t know what I’d do without her and my husband’s unwavering encouragement.  They are amazing.

My Business Card Came today!!!

So, no more ignoring my heart.  If I only have the Bean passion for 3-5 years, then I still fully believe that not only will children benefit greatly from it, and I CAN help a lot of children and even parents… then IF my passion for that goes away, it is because there is yet again, something else calling to me that I need to do before I am no longer on this earth.  I can’t miss out on an opportunity to follow my heart because of fear.  If I do that… there is nothing that I ever will do, because I can let myself fear any unknown…

but I also know that following my heart, flying by the seat of my pants, for as scary as it is, it is my adrenaline rush, my roller coaster… and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. 

I should note at this point that my husband insists that I will trade it in someday for a few years living on a sail boat… on the OCEAN.  Have I mentioned that I get horribly, awfully motion sick at the drop of a hat?  I may have to find a way to renegotiate this:)

My First Original Song for the Bean Show:

What scares you?  What Thrills you?  How Do You Deal with your own fears?

Check in with my Reality Check Part Two:  Social Anxiety post, because apparently baring my soul felt good enough that I had to do it again!

156 Responses to “Reality Check, Part 1: Let’s Get Real Here, Who DOES This???”

  1. Tami @ ThisMomsDelight March 4, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

    What a neat family project! Best wishes in it.

  2. Lanell aka New Jack Sweetie March 4, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Continue to follow your heart! You won’t regret it! I wish you the best of luck in following your true passions!

  3. Sylver Blaque March 4, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    You know, we all have those cringe-worthy moments of doubt. But look at you – creating wonderful entertainment for kiddies everywhere & loving every moment of what you’re doing. I say, you’re a brave & beautiful example for us all! 🙂

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 4, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      Thank you Sylver:) You misfits are an awesome source of support. I really appreciate your comments!!

  4. Julie@teachinggoodeaters March 4, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    That’s great that you’re just going for it and following your dreams! I tend to be very cautious and I allow worry to keep me from following my dreams. Best of luck with your new venture- it looks like you’re all having a lot of fun with it!

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 4, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

      Don’t let worry hold you back!! It’s scary, but its SUCH an exciting ride I wouldn’t change it for the world!

  5. Prodigals mom March 4, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    I think this is great! I wish you the best, and I think you will be very successful!

  6. Sparta Savings March 4, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    My Mom used to say that you don’t go to college learn your degree, you go to college to learn how to learn. I think that can be applied to life, that everything is a lesson to learn more for the next challenge. Even if you only go 3-5 years (which I don’t think you should focus on) it is teaching you the things you need to learn for the next thing. Good luck on your adventure!

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 4, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

      Wow, that’s our whole philosophy with homeschooling. Our goal is to teach our kids how to learn instead of just filling their heads! And I never think much on how long something will last… its mainly something that I notice in hindsight. There is always an obvious moment in which something was “finished” for me. And, yes, every project/passion that we’ve had had taught me what I needed for the next stepping stone! Its been quite a journey!

  7. Michelle Pegram March 5, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    First of all, congratulations on your great idea and I wish you all the success in the world!

    I usually try to just meet my fears head-on, especially when it comes to success. If you think about it, the world and civilization as a whole probably wouldn’t be nearly as advanced as it is if we let fear control us. I know I for sure wouldn’t be where I am in life (running my own successful blogging business) if I let fear, and people telling me I wouldn’t make it, get in the way 🙂 Good luck!

  8. Eeek! I’m contemplating a HUGE project now and wonder the same thing: “Who do I think I am?” Zero training mixed with a little bit of fear is what I’m feeling on a daily basis but I just have to tell myself to get over it. I’m anticipating a lot of brick wall but have to just find a way around them. Best wishes for your venture!

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 5, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      I’ve always had tremendous success with things when I listen to my heart. I wish you much luck on your project as well!

  9. Kari Cu March 5, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    I love it! Follow your dreams! Great idea.

  10. Stacy March 5, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

    Good luck in your endeavors! Following your heart is never a bad thing, and I think you have a great balance and perspective.

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 6, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

      Thank you!! I wouldn’t say I’m “balanced”:) But my husband is a good balance for me!

  11. ajugglingmom March 6, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    Wishing you all the best for taking this idea and seeing it to fruition.

  12. The Chick March 6, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    I think it’s great that you are following your heart. You will get naysayers, no doubt, but they are not the ones you have to answer to in the end. You have to do what satisifes your soul and what you are called to do, and I applaud you for that. As for me, my post for Blogelina was of a similar vein in that I feel like I’ve always heard the message “you can’t” and I’m finally starting to break free of that and challenge myself to do things I never thought I could. It’s such an incredibly freeing feeling, living this way. Thanks for this post and I wish you well!

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 6, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

      Thank you so much!! I’m very fortunate to have such a supportive family around me helping me along!! I wish you luck in your endeavors as well!!

  13. Jenny March 6, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    I love that you have the confidence, personality, and determination to start your very own show. I’m sure my nieces would watch if you were on TV!

  14. Mona March 6, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Good luck on your venture! I know sort of how you feel – I’m trying to get my etsy shop going along with my blog (which are totally unrelated!). Follow your heart!

  15. Caroline March 6, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Sounds like a really cute idea and show!! I’m sure my 2 yr old would love it. Keep up the positive attitude!!!

  16. Mandi March 6, 2012 at 9:51 pm #

    I have a fear of failure. I’m a perfectionist, so if I don’t get it right or do well at what I’m trying to achieve, I fall apart. But I also have a strong faith, so I always turn to God when I get to this point. Good luck with your puppet show. It looks awesome and you are going to do great!

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 9, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      I spent the first 30 years of my life letting my perfectionistic tendencies hold me back from trying. I only got over it when I forced myself past it to be a good example for my kids!! They saved me from myself!

  17. Betsy @ Romance on a Dime March 6, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Congrats on getting started with your business. I hope it goes really well. It’s very important to enjoy what you are doing. My husband is building a business doing what he loves. So I can empathize!

  18. Dawn March 6, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    Lovely video’s, I am going to share these with my kids tomorrow.

  19. Dakotapam March 7, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Good for you! Stepping out can be hard. I think you are doing a great job.

    I too am on the verge of doing better things, but I am an introvert and my own best critic. I hate self promotion, but self promotion is what is going to get me entrepreneurial ventures off of the ground!

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 9, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

      I really have a hard time with self promotion sometimes too! Its part of my problem that I need to get over!

  20. Single Gal March 7, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

    I don’t think it’s silly at all to worry about falling flat on your face! Heck, I’m terrified myself of failure. One thing I like to remind myself of though is every successful person I’ve ever read about in a magazine article or wherever, they usually failed before they succeeded. So even if I do fail, I will learn what not to so that next time I’ll know what to do so I CAN succeed next time.

  21. Elizabeth March 7, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    I wish you all the best in this endeavor. You have a lot of courage to step out and follow this dream. Keep going! BTW are you familiar with Axtell Expressions? They design and make many kinds of puppets.

  22. dtorin March 7, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    Best wishes!

  23. isis March 7, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    It’s great that you’re following your dreams! I wish you success in this!

  24. stephanie March 7, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    Doing something you love and following your dream in spite of the angst is so rewarding. It doesn’t matter what others think, its positive and I wish you the best of luck.

    Stephanie
    http://www.royalmajestea.com

  25. Vivian Kirkfield March 7, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    Visiting from the 100 comment event.
    Congratulations on coming up with a creative idea and following through with it!
    Is your family having fun with the project? If so, that is fantastic…what a great way to promote family togetherness. 🙂
    Hope you will stop by my blog: http://www.viviankirkfield.wordpress.com

  26. Jess March 7, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    My family and I watched “Being Elmo” last weekend. It was a truly amazing, heartwarming and yet heartbreaking movie. As talented as Kevin is and as much as he has given to the world, his family, his daughter suffered somewhat. I can tell that you will be successful at your passion while including and sharing with your family.

    You are very brave to follow your passion into the great unknown and I am cheering you on.

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 9, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

      Yeah, I watched that and found it a little sad, too. I love to do projects WITH my kids, though, although I’m sure that I’ll mess up from time to time with my kiddoes, I’m glad that the girls at least share my passion for acting & Bean!

  27. Lori West :)Lori@Mothering-Matters March 8, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    Go for it girl! I love seeing a family that works together, supports each other and is being creative!
    Thanks for sharing your bravery and creativity!! Keep it up!

  28. Stacy March 8, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    I like your confidence! You can do this! I get a big thrill when the children in my class ‘get’ something….a new skill…new words… I love to see their excitement when they say “I did it all by myself!”

  29. Nicole @ MamaNYC March 8, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

    This is an amazing idea.. and I wish you the BEST – you deserve it. Anyone that is willing to take a plunge for something they are so passionate about – definitely deserves as much success and recognition as the world can give! Congratulations! 🙂

    Nicole @ MamaNYC
    http://www.mamanyc.net

  30. callie March 9, 2012 at 8:03 am #

    Awesome job at following your dreams! I was recently on TLC’s Extreme Couponing but my husband told me not to try out for this season…but I am so glad I didn’t listen to him, haha, because now I have been on 3 TLC shows and get to run my website. Follow your passion and you will be successful!

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 9, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

      WOW!! That is AWESOME!! I love LOVE those shows. I wish I could figure out how to do the couponing thing. I don’t seem to have the focus!

  31. mode 2012 March 21, 2012 at 4:43 am #

    cute:)

  32. David H March 21, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    This is a great story! My biggest fears are following my dreams. I am a big dreamer and have always worked for someone else. Most of my dreams involve working for myself… that way I can tell the boss where to go and not get fired!

    I have read all the quotes and sayings on ‘just do it’ and ‘follow your heart’ but I am still terrified to take that first big step… I keep thinking I can start something small and grow it into a full time, money earning business but even then it doesn’t happen…

    God I wish I had the stregnth to just do it…

    Of course the idea matters too… no matter how much you try a not-so-great idea is still just that… Your idea is GREAT!
    Good luck with it… I will try to spread the word!
    TTFN
    David

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 22, 2012 at 9:29 am #

      It is a big deal to take a chance, but it is SO worth it!! I spent the first 30 years of my life being paralyzed by a fear of failure!! I am so happy that I finally got over myself:) Good luck to you, and thank you so much for all of your comments!

We LOVE getting your comments! Thank you:)

