Sunday Family Sweetness: When I Grow Up, I Want to Be… How TRUE.

18 Mar

I keep noticing this theme on forums and other blogs.  I’ve started realizing that my replies/comments were becoming a blog post in an of themselves, so I decided to take the inspiration and make a post about it!  I knew from a young age what my children’s “bent” was.  What they loved more than anything else, what skills they excelled at and what they were passionate about.  In general, their hopes and dreams have held steady, and now that they’re older (11, 14, 15, 16 & 20), they appear to still be holding onto their childhood dreams.  I think it has been wonderful to watch them grow and change into awesome young people!

This is right after Paris was born in early 1998 (she turns 14 this month!!!)

What did *I* want to be when I grew up?

I can't believe I'm putting this photo out there (1987, if you don't recognize the late 80's hair). Yes, I was a cheerleader for about 4 months before I decided I actually preferred sleep.

When I was younger, I wanted to grow up to be an actress or singer, a teacher and a mom.  I got the patronizing head pats… especially when my opinion didn’t change throughout high school (except by then I had decided that no way did I want to put up with trying to be a teacher!)  I was told that I “couldn’t DO that.”  Well, funny thing is, that’s exactly what I’ve done (and I even managed to throw in 15 years of being a homeschool teacher:), and the job I consider THE most important?  Being a wife and mom.  Yeah, I said it.  And I’ve enjoyed my time in theater, on stage and on video, even if I’m not famous, I have still gotten a lot of pleasure out of doing it, and that’s what counts (although anyone is free to pay my anytime!)

When my 20 year old, Sprite was small, she wanted to grow up and be a preacher. By the time she was 7, she wanted to work in children’s ministry. When she was about 9- 13, she actually wrote a Children’s ministry curriculum and taught classes at the campgrounds for a couple of years when we lived on the road.  At 20, she’s working as a nanny and just got hired on with a teen pregnancy ministry.

Sprite at 7-8

Sprite at around age 8, already fully ready to grow up to be in children's ministry... even though the rest of us didn't even go to church!

When my now 16 year Kainan was a baby, the only toys he played with for a couple of years were the sports stuff. Baseball, rubber ball, basketball, etc.  He had many years of wanting to go into the NBA.  I don’t know if that will happen or not, but as a teen, he’s still obsessed with basketball. He’s planning to become a physical therapist specializing in sports injuries as well as playing college ball and eventually coaching at least as a hobby.

Kainan, oddly enough, was the laziest baby I had. He rolled over late, crawled late, walked late, and really had little motivation to MOVE until his little brother started walking early. Then his competitiveness kicked in, and he's been in high gear since!

My now 15 year old, Jaedin has always been intrigued by bugs, even before he could read, he spent his own money on encyclopedia type books of bugs and insects. As a young child, he loved all things plants/animals/science… and as soon as he was allowed he spent hours taking apart old machines (for a 7th birthday party, we brought in a bunch of used dvd players, blenders, mixers, etc that were broken and him and all of his friends spent literally HOURS taking things apart and building their own machines:)

When we lived on the bus and traveled the country, Jaedin always loved finding new critters everywhere we went.

He’s now learning computer programming and robotics.  He loves to build and create as well as still enjoying gardening, fishing and all those critter type things.

My now 14 year old daughter Paris has always been into fashion, hair and beauty. She’s VERY intelligent, but even as a three year old she was into clothes… the first of my kids to care:)  From the age of about 1-age 3, she would ONLY wear dresses, the more ruffles, the better.  The closest she’d come to wearing pants was lacey bloomers!  Fortunately, dresses were always readily available really inexpensively at garage sales, so it wasn’t a big deal to keep her in dresses!

She now does fabulous clothing designs, has a fashion & beauty blog, as well as a youtube channel. She also does gorgeous illustrations for children’s books that I write.  She has a bit of the acting bug, too.

Paris at her "Dress Up" birthday party (as she's had almost every year!) doing nails with her big sister.

My 11 year old Abyni… she’s only ever wanted to be an actress (other than that one year she wanted to be either a doctor or a turtle when she grew up!), and she’s pretty good at it, so we’ support her in that.  Here she is getting her first fan kiss from her cousin Dallas (who is exactly one year younger than she is).  She loved being on stage and getting all the adoration she got, especially being the youngest person in the cast!

She’s continued to branch out, with a love of all things artistic, but she still holds on to that acting passion… and now enjoying acting alongside Bean the monkey.

Abyni's first role, age 4 in the Wizard of Oz

So, how about you?  What did you want to be as a child?  Did it change a lot once you were an adult?  What do your kids want to be?

And here we are Currently: The Always Family Photo, January 2012

4 Responses to “Sunday Family Sweetness: When I Grow Up, I Want to Be… How TRUE.”

  1. Patricia March 19, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    What a great post and what a great mom you are ~ letting your children dream of what they want, to be what they want, to be encouraged, loved, appreciated … that’s what every child needs. Seems to me that we all come into life with these special gifts and talents and, when recognized (as you have), they can grow and we can live our dreams, work at what gives us the most joy. Fabulous!

    • Bean's Monkey Business March 20, 2012 at 9:45 am #

      Thank you for the encouragement! This parenting stuff is hard at times, but I’m doing my best!:)

  2. Janet March 20, 2012 at 10:14 pm #

    Hi Byn, I saw your comment on Cari’s site about my book and I love all the happiness on your site. As you can probably tell I love people but I also love kids – I have 2 of my own similar ages and can identify so much with your posts. They are so hard to predict and wow open us up to so much. Love it that you’re encouraging them to follow their passion, you’re a fabulous mother.
    Take care
    Janet

We LOVE getting your comments! Thank you:)

