Our First Official Public Outing!

23 Apr

Saturday morning Paris, Abyni and I took Bean to the Great Diaper Change in Tulsa.  There were a LOT of moms, babies and younger kids there.

At first they had me standing behind the desk, but most of the kids couldn't see.

Bean had a great time meeting all the kids!  The kids of all ages just LOVED playing peek-a-boo.  I couldn’t believe it, but even after an hour, if we didn’t do a countdown and peek-a-book the older kids would ask for it again and again.  It was awesome, because even the little babies knew to cover their eyes and say “BOO!”  It was just adorable!!

The two older kids in this photo were right next to Bean almost the entire two hours!

There were about 4 kids who stayed nearby, a couple RIGHT next to Bean almost the entire two hours.  I couldn’t believe how long they stayed interested!!  They just sat there and chatted with him, played games and just chattered on as though I wasn’t even there!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It was a bit chaotic, since we had never done this before AND my husband wasn’t there, but I think it went well.  There were a few times when I had to make the bigger kids back up so that the younger interested babies could step up.  I also had to keep a few young kids from pulling on Bean’s ears and tail.

Mostly, though, it was just a positive experience.  I was surprised that hardly any of the kids paid ANY attention to me.  As a matter of fact, they would always look surprised if I talked to them in my normal voice.

I’m glad we went, and we learned a lot for next time.  Now I need to get a hold of some libraries and different local places so we can do more live shows, as well as some special filming.  I’m hoping to do a tour of the library with my favorite children’s librarian and a tour of Safari Joe’s Reptile World.

Any other ideas for good, child friendly tours?  What would your child enjoy seeing?

 

2 Responses to “Our First Official Public Outing!”

  1. Patricia April 24, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    This is so great Byn. I hope you were handing out Bean’s business card to all the moms. I can’t wait to say, “I knew her when ….”

    • Bean's Monkey Business April 24, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

      Thanks, Patricia. Paris and Abyni were handing out cards to the moms, and photos with our website to the kids AND free coloring pages!

We LOVE getting your comments! Thank you:)

