Flutterby, a Butterfly Lullaby for a Restful Naptime

25 Sep

A wonderful musician friend of mine offered to let us use this song that she wrote last year. The second that I heard it, I pictured butterflies, made of paper, gently fluttering in the wind.  The image was SO clear, that I immediately started working on the artwork.  I used pages from an old book, cut into the shapes of butterflies.  We mounted them with fishing line to some dowels and went outside to film.

One downside to living in Oklahoma, its hard to find a beautiful CALM spring breeze.  Over the next week, it seemed that the only time we had time to film, the camera was down, the wind was blowing too hard or it was too dark.

*Sigh*  As life happened, my vision for the video failed more than a little… and then we moved.  Sadly the paper butterflies didn’t make it, and never got to see the light of day.

Fast forward to yesterday, as I listened to the song again and got inspired again.  Unfortunately, it took several tries, several failed attempts, literally over 300 photos that wouldn’t work… we finally ended up using beads.  Nearly 2,000 beads, countless HOURS sitting and moving them by little increments, until I had over 400 photos… creating this as the end result.  I hope you like it, and that your child is mesmerized and ready for a nap afterwards!

My work space (I spent WAY too many hours at this table!)

Take a look at what we came up with.  Its a stop motion animation and I know you’ll love this song as much as we do!  A lullaby video for naptime!

Thank you to Sylvie Lynn!!  You can find her other music on her Myspace Page.

We LOVE getting your comments! Thank you:)

